Tangail inspiration

I returned to the village of Pathrail in Tangail to stay at the Ubinig seed preservation centre for a few days. My Ubinig friends welcomed me with big hugs and smiles. It was my 4th visit and each time I seem to see more details, get more small insights into a simpler life where everything is made by hand, the food is all local and fresh, and electricity is not available for most parts of the evening. With the intention of focusing on my practice, and thinking of ways to express new ideas all my senses were highly tuned.

Once more I was amazed at how the colours and patterns in nature are reflected in the textiles. And how close nature and textiles are, with warps being wound round every corner making colourful roads of threads, and the sound of weaving echoing with the sounds of birds songs. I wish I could transfer this beauty to traffic jammed Dhaka, and fill the roads with colourful threads and rhythmic sounds. I love the way the light makes the threads appear and disappear and the sheen of the brightly coloured silk flashes in the sunshine, I think there is an installation idea there, something to explore when I return to the UK.

Please note the copyright for all the pictures and videos posted on the blog and flickr belong to Ismini Samanidou and Gary Allson and may not be used without permission


Leave a comment

Filed under about

Leave a Reply

