some ideas for new work

No weaving this time, lets see what I can do without a loom for a change! My last visit to Tangail sparked some ideas for new work and I think I will focus on rice this time. Rice and texiles is the backbone of the economy in the village (let alone the whole of Banglaesh). rice fields, rice and spices drying in the open spaces in neat clusters, the methodical cataloguing of rice and the Anthony Gormley esqe feel of the ceramic pots clustered together.

Last week I experimented using a grass broom to ‘draw’ a herringbone structure on the mustard seeds drying in the patio. I also took a systematic walk on the drying rice (you are meant to walk on it to allow the rice to move and dry completely). I took pictures and small films of rice shadows too. I am now going back for another 4 days to try some new ideas out and to experiment.

I am back middle next week so watch this space for new updates then!

Please note the copyright for all the pictures and videos posted on the blog and flickr belong to Ismini Samanidou and Gary Allson and may not be used without permission


Leave a comment

Filed under about

Leave a Reply

