A touch of luxury

A few hours of pure luxury:

A visit to the Story of Pride exhibition featuring some beautiful jamdani fabrics, mostly new designs developed by super brand Aarong and a selection of beautiful antique pieces. I stayed for 3 hours and was mesmerised by their skill and ingenuity. Its ingenuity and skill is reinforced once you see the looms that produce these fabrics are low tech bamboo structures. Thank you to Rafique Islam from Aarong for allowing me to photograph the show so I can share these beautiful textiles with you. I am visiting some of the weaving villages that produced these jamdani fabrics next week so I will write more about these magnificent fabrics then.

Luxury continued with dinner at the Westin with the British Council, a feast for the eyes and the belly! I got so carried away with the exhibition I didn’t have lunch so made the most of the super buffet. For a few moments I forgot I was in Dhaka, especially when I recognised Imogen, a capoeira comrad from the Cordao de Ouro group in London, what a coincidence! Thank you to Masud and his team for inviting me along and giving me a lift. We had a tight squeeze so I got to ride at the back of the BC land rover with Dominique, amusing the rickshaw wallahs, cng drivers and cars in traffic!

Please note the copyright for all the pictures and videos posted on the blog and flickr belong to Ismini Samanidou and Gary Allson and may not be used without permission
2 Comments

Filed under about

2 responses to “A touch of luxury

  1. Sam

    Hi Ismini,

    Just a quick message to say great photos! Was talking to Gary a few days ago after a presentation he gave to us about his travels around the factories etc. Inspiring to hear what is going on first hand, and how we affect life in eastern countries.

    Good luck with the rest of the trip,

    Sam Gillespie

Leave a Reply

