the beginning

hello and welcome to this diary

this is the very first entry, still from the UK, a few days before we fly out to Dhaka on Monday

I have been doing a little research on Bangladesh and I just saw a few striking videos on the guardian website on climate change and the effects in Bangladesh (thank you Katie for sending me the link).

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/video/2009/nov/30/bangladesh-climate-migration

it will be a challenging residency and I am looking forward to a shift in perception

according to BBC Weather its sunny and warm in Dhaka next week and we are looking forward to a little bit of sunshine Cornwall has been very very grey

all the books are being sent off Friday (see thank you section) and we are heading up to Heathrow on Sunday for our Monday flight

I will be uploading photos and videos as we travel so do visit this site to follow our journey and leave your comments!

(I just saw the flag for Bangladesh is green with a red dot what a beautiful combination and what a funny thing I have been wearing a lot of red and green for the past few weeks without realising)

ismini and gary

10 Comments

Filed under about

10 responses to “the beginning

  1. Im so excited for you Ismini!

    It’s great that you will be sharing your journey as you go along.
    I look forward to read your next posts.
    I wish you all the best!
    xx

  2. Tim Parry-Williams

    Dear Ismini & Gary – Very best of luck for the residency. The BC couldn’t have a more enthusiastic, creative and inspiring ambassador, and indeed just someone as plain lovely! Have a wonderful time and we will all be watching to see what magic you weave!! T XX

    • hi Tim, what an amazing comment and send off. thank you! we are having an amazing time exploring Dhaka and making new friends! we have seen many textile artisans but no weavers yet! I can’t wait to meet them! The CTET is quite an experience and an insight on the scientific aspect of textiles.
      much love and all my wishes for Christmas, and I hope we will catch up when I get back!
      xxxx ismini and gary

  3. Neil Musson

    I guess you have arrived by now!? Have a great time Ismini and I know that you will find sooo much inspiration as well as inspiring those you meet! Always a pleasure to hear from you, Neil X

    • Hi Neil! we have been in Dhaka over a week now and loving the vibe and people in the city. inspiration is everywhere, I particularly love the knotted and tangled telephone wires, the colour clashing rikshaw fashion and the buckets! Can’t seem to stop taking pictures! Hope to catch up with you in the UK after Feb
      much love to you and all best wishes to your family
      Ismini

  4. Joanne Schofield

    Hi Ismini and Gary,

    You are my first blog as I find the meduim slightly jarring… but for you two, I am ready and willing… sounds fantastic.. good luck.. arrive safely and thank goodness funders have realised their money needs to be sunk into artists like you!

    Look forward to your journeys..

    Joanne (lately of Godolphin)

  5. Titi

    Nounouuuuuuu (or else dear Isminaki)! I hope you both had a safe flight to lovely Bangladesh…Europe already misses you but Asia can only benefit from your wisdom, talent and beauty of soul so… show them the way!!!
    Take care of yourselves and I can’t wait to read about your adventures in here! happy times!!!

Leave a Reply

